Are Liquorice Allsorts Vegan, Halal, Gluten Free & Dairy Free?

Liquorice Allsorts are a type of colorful confectionery that is typically made from a combination of licorice, sugar, and various flavorings. But are they vegan friendly? Let’s find out.

In this post, we’re going to examine the ingredients inside Liquorice allsorts in order to determine if they are suitable for vegans.

Let’s start with the ingredients list.

Liquorice Allsorts ingredients:

The main ingredients in Liquorice Allsorts are:

  • Sugar, Glucose Syrup.
  • Wheat Flour, Molasses (11%).
  • Invert Sugar, Water.
  • Vegetable Oil (Coconut).
  • Wheat Starch, Desiccated Coconut.
  • Gelatin, Humectant (422).
  • Colours (150d, 102, 110, 129, 133).
  • Liquorice Extract (0.2%).
  • Emulsifier (471), Aniseed Oil.
  • Flavours, Salt.

They may also contain MILK and EGG.

Now, let’s answer our main question.

Are Liquorice Allsorts vegan?

Unfortunately, Licorice Allsorts are NOT vegan friendly.

They contain animal derived ingredients in the form of gelatin and may also made on equipments that also process egg and milk ingredients.

Gelatin is a common ingredient used in many types of confectionery and is derived from animal collagen. Beeswax is another common ingredient that is used to add shine or to coat confectionery and is derived from bees.

Please, always read the ingredient list on the packaging carefully. Look for any animal-derived ingredients, such as gelatin or beeswax, and avoid any products that contain these ingredients if you are following a vegan diet.

But fortunately, there’s some vegan red licorice candy and vegan red vines are one of them.

Are Liquorice Allsorts halal?

NO. Liquorice Allsorts are not halal.

They contain beef gelatin and in order for gelatin to be considered halal, it must be derived from beef that have been slaughtered in accordance with Islamic dietary laws.

That’s what we don’t know. So Liquorice Allsorts are not suitable for Muslims.

Are Liquorice Allsorts gluten free?

NO. Liquorice Allsorts are not gluten free.

They contain wheat flour and gluten is a protein naturally found in grains including wheat, barley, and rye.

Liquorice Allsorts are not suitable for people with Coeliac disease or gluten intolerance.

Are Liquorice Allsorts dairy free?

NO. Liquorice Allsorts are not dairy free.

Although Liquorice Allsorts do not contain dairy products, they are made with equipments that also process milk products.

If you have a severe milk allergies or intolerances may want to avoid these candies.


Liquorice Allsorts are not vegan friendly.

You may also like:

I am Jennifer, a fervent animal lover, and a dedicated vegan. Am the person behind the I offer insights, advice, and personal stories that have inspired many in their journey towards a plant-based lifestyle. My journey into veganism has also been coupled with a love for writing. I used this passion to share my vegan experiences, to educate others about the benefits of plant-based living, and to advocate for animal rights. Find out more about me on the about page.