Are Gummy Bears Vegan? Haribo, Albanese, Black Forest!

Gummy bears are small, teddy bear-shaped and fruit gum candies, similar to a jelly baby. They are soft and chewy. But are they vegan friendly? Let’s find out.

In this article we’re going to examine the Gummy Bears ingredients to determine if they are suitable for vegans.

Haribo is the popular brand of gummy bears. They originated in Germany and have become well known worldwide for their sweet and fruity flavors. Other brands of gummy bears include Albanese and Black Forest.

In order to answer our main question, let’s check the ingredients inside gummy bears.

Gummy Bears Ingredients:

In general, the main ingredients found in gummy bear candy include:

  • Sugar.
  • Gelatin.
  • Con syrup.
  • Starches.
  • Flavorings.
  • Food colorings and citric acid.

Gummy Bears are made by mixing the ingredients together in a large vat. Then the liquid is cooked. The resulting liquid is then poured into molds fo shaping.

Now, that we know the ingredient list, let’s go back to our question “are Gummy Bears vegan?”.

Are Gummy Bears Vegan?

Unfortunately No. Gummy Bears are not vegan friendly, they aren’t even vegetarian.

Gummy bears contain animal derived product in the form of gelatin. The gelatin is made from decaying animal hides, boiled crushed bones, and the connective tissues of cattle and pigs.

Generally, gelatin is used as a stabilizer, thickener, or texturizer in foods such as yogurt, cream cheese, and gummies.

But don’t worry, there’s some vegan versions of Gummy Bears made from plant based ingredients.

You can check these them on Amazon here. They are low in calories and sugar, keto friendly and plant based.

Also, you can make them at home to make sure what ingredients are in them. Here’s a vegan gummy bears recipe.

Vegan Gummy Bears Recipe:

The vegan Gummy Bears recipe is super simple and only uses 3 easy ingredients that you can switch up and customize completely to your tastes!

These 3 main ingredients are:


  • In a small saucepan, combine fruit juice or puree, sugar or corn syrup. Heat over medium heat, stirring until sugar has dissolved.
  • Sprinkle in Agar agar powder and stir until completely dissolved.
  • Remove from heat and let cool slightly.
  • Stir in food coloring, if desired.
  • Pour mixture into candy molds (you can find them here) and refrigerate for at least 2 hours.
  • Once set, remove gummy bears from molds and store in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

Enjoy your homemade vegan gummy bears!

Are Haribo Gummy Bears Vegan?

Unfortunately, NO. Most Haribo Gummy Bears are not vegan.

The presence of gelatin in the manufacturing process makes them unsuitable for both vegans and vegetarians.

Gelatin is an animal byproduct commonly used to make capsules, cosmetics, ointments, and foods.

Are Haribo Gummy Bears Vegetarian?

No, Haribo gummy bears are not vegetarian. They contain gelatin, which is derived from animal collagen.

If you’re looking for vegetarian or vegan gummy options, it’s essential to check the ingredients list and look for brands that specifically state they are vegetarian or vegan.

Related Posts:

Are Albanese Gummy Bears Vegan?

According to their websites, all Albanese gummies are made with gelatin that is derived from pork.

And therefore, Albanese gummy bears are not vegan friendly.

This ingredient used in the process of making Albanese Gummy Bears makes them unsuitable for those following a vegan diet.

Are Albanese Gummy Bears Halal?

No, Albanese gummy bears are not halal as they contain gelatin derived from pork.

Based on informations from their official website (can be found here) all of Albanese gummies are made with gelatin that is derived from pork.

Does Black Forest Gummy Bears Have Pork Gelatin?

According to their website, Black Forest Gummy Bears use pork gelatin to achieve the perfect yummy, gummy chew.

As a rule of dumb, always check the product label before buying.

Are Black Forest Gummy Bears Vegan?

No, Black Forest Gummy Bears are not vegan. They contain gelatin, which is derived from animal collagen, typically sourced from the bones, skin, and connective tissues of pigs or cows.

Are Gummy Bears Vegetarian?

Most traditional gummy bears are not vegetarian because they contain gelatin, which is derived from animal collagen, typically sourced from the bones, skin, and connective tissues of pigs or cows.

However, there are vegetarian and vegan gummy bear alternatives available on the market that use plant-based gelling agents like pectin or agar instead of gelatin.

Always check the ingredients list if you’re looking for vegetarian or vegan options.

Are Gummy Bears Gluten Free?

Black Forest Gummy Bears are gluten free.

The others Gummy Bears may contain Glucose (made from wheat or corn) and Dextrose (made from wheat or corn) or they are produced in facilities with equipment that is also used to make products with gluten ingredients.

Are Gummy Bears Halal?

The original Gummy Bears recipe contains gelatin.

Gelatin is not a halal ingredient. It is forbidden by the islamic religion. Which means Gummy breas are not suitable for muslim people.

Always double check the ingredients list before buying.


Gummy Bears are not vegan friendly. They are made with animal products in the form of gelatin.

I am Jennifer, a fervent animal lover, and a dedicated vegan. Am the person behind the I offer insights, advice, and personal stories that have inspired many in their journey towards a plant-based lifestyle. My journey into veganism has also been coupled with a love for writing. I used this passion to share my vegan experiences, to educate others about the benefits of plant-based living, and to advocate for animal rights. Find out more about me on the about page.