Are Welch’s Fruit Snacks Vegan, Vegetarian & Halal?

Welch’s Fruit Snacks are a popular brand of fruit-flavored snacks made with real fruit juice.

They are available in a variety of flavors, including mixed fruits, berries, and tropical fruits.

But are they vegan friendly, halal and healthy? Let’s find out.

In this article, we’re going to explore the question of whether Welch’s Fruit Snacks are suitable for vegans and Muslims.

We will take a closer look at the ingredients used in the snacks and examine any potential animal-derived ingredients.

The article will provide informations for those who are interested in maintaining a vegan lifestyle, and also for Muslim people looking for some snack option.

With the growing popularity of veganism and plant-based diets, it’s important to have accurate and reliable informations about the food we eat.

So, let’s dive in and find out if Welch’s Fruit Snacks are vegan, halal & healthy.

Let’s start with the ingredients.

Welch’s Fruit Snacks Ingredients:

Welch’s Fruit Snacks are available in 4 flavors, mixed fruits, berries, tropical fruits and superfruit mix. So we’re going to check the ingredients in every flavor.

1-Mixed Fruit Ingredients

Welch’s Fruit Snacks Mixed Fruit are made with these ingredients:

  • Fruit puree (grape, peach, orange, strawberry and raspberry).
  • Corn syrup, chicory root extract, sugar.
  • Modified corn starch, gelatin.
  • Concord grape juice from concentrate.
  • Citric acid, lactic acid, ascorbic acid (vitamin C).
  • Natural and artificial flavors, alpha tocopherol acetate (vitamin E).
  • Vitamin A palmitate, sodium citrate.
  • Coconut oil, carnauba wax, annatto (color).
  • Turmeric (color), and fruit and vegetable juice (color).

2-Berries ’n Cherries Ingredients

  • Fruit puree (pear, peach, strawberry, raspberry, blackberry, blueberry and cherry).
  • Corn syrup, sugar, modified corn starch.
  • Modified tapioca starch, gelatin, pectin, citric acid (acidulant).
  • Lactic acid, natural and artificial flavors, ascorbic acid (vitamin C).
  • Alpha tocopherol acetate (vitamin E), vitamin A palmitate.
  • Sodium citrate, coconut oil, carnauba wax, red 40, and blue 1.

3-Tropical Fruits Ingredients:

  • FRUIT PUREE 45% MIN. (GRAPE, PEACH, PEAR, BANANA, MANGO, KIWI, PASSION FRUIT, STRAWBERRY, GRAPEFRUIT AND PINEAPPLE).
  • ADDED SUGARS (CORN SYRUP, SUGAR).
  • MODIFIED STARCH, GELATIN, LACTIC ACID.
  • CITRIC ACID, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS.
  • SODIUM CITRATE, COCONUT OIL.
  • ASCORBIC ACID (VITAMIN C).
  • ALPHA TOCOPHEROL ACETATE (VITAMIN E).
  • VITAMIN A PALMITATE, CARNAUBA WAX, RED 40, BLUE 1, ANNATTO, TURMERIC.

4-Superfruit Mix Ingredients:

  • FRUIT PUREE 45% MIN. (GRAPE, PEAR, APRICOT, KIWI, POMEGRANATE, BLACKBERRY, ACAI, BLUEBERRY, PASSIONFRUIT, STARFRUIT, GOJI AND DRAGONFRUIT).
  • ADDED SUGARS (CORN SYRUP, SUGAR), MODIFIED STARCH.
  • GELATIN, LACTIC ACID, CITRIC ACID, NATURAL FLAVORS.
  • SODIUM CITRATE, COCONUT OIL.
  • ASCORBIC ACID (VITAMIN C).
  • ALPHA TOCOPHEROL ACETATE (VITAMIN E).
  • VITAMIN A PALMITATE, CARNAUBA WAX.
  • FRUIT AND VEGETABLE EXTRACT (WITH COLORING PURPOSES).
  • ANNATTO, TURMERIC.

Now, that we have checked the ingredients found in Welch’s Fruit Snacks, let’s go back to our main questions.

Are Welch’s Fruit Snacks Vegan?

Are they vegan friendly? The answer is NO. Welch’s fruit snacks are not vegan.

Based on the ingredients listed above, none of the Welch’s fruit snacks flavors are vegan friendly. They contain animal derived ingredient in the form of gelatin.

Gelatin is derived from collagen taken from animal skin and bones (from pigs).

It is used in fruit snacks as a gelling agent, because it helps to bind the ingredients together and give the snack a chewy texture.

Are Welch’s Fruit Snacks Vegetarian?

Based on the definition of the vegetraian diet, the lacto vegetarians exclude all meat and animal products but do include dairy products.

Welch’s Fruit Snacks contain animal derived ingredients in the form of gelatin, which is usually made from pig skins, bovine hides and beef and porcine bones.

And therefore, Welch’s fruit snacks are not vegetarian.


Related Posts:


Are Welch’s Fruit Snacks Halal?

Welch’s fruit snacks are not halal. As i mentioned earlier, the snacks contain gelatin.

Gelatin is not considered halal because it is derived from the collagen in animal bones, skin, and connective tissue and exactly from pigs.

Consuming pork and pork derived ingredients is haram according to Islamic dietary laws.

Some gelatin product can be derived from halal source such as fish, but it’s best to check the source of the gelatin before consuming it.

Summary:

Welch’s Fruit snacks are not vegan. The presence of gelatin makes them unsuitable for vegans and muslim.

Table of Contents