Are Takis Dairy Free? Most Takis Flavors Are Not Dairy-Free

Takis, a popular brand of spicy rolled tortilla snacks, are a beloved treat for many. However, for those with dairy allergies or who follow a dairy-free diet, the question of whether or not Takis contain dairy may be a concern.

In this article, we’ll take a closer look at the ingredients in Takis to determine if they are considered dairy-free.

Takis are a crunchy, spicy snack made from rolled tortillas that have been fried until crispy.

They come in a variety of flavors, including Original Fuego, Nitro (Habanero Flavor), Dragon Spicy Sweet Chili Flavor, Spicy BBQ Outlaw Flavor, Nacho Xplosion and Blue Heat.

And the new flavors are : Hot Nuts Flare, Hot Nuts Fuego, Waves Fuego and Waves Dragon Sweet Chili.

So, we’re going to take a look at the ingredients in every flavor.

The Ingredients In Takis Are :

These ingredients are picked from the official Takis website.

Takis Fuego Flavor Ingredients:

Corn Masa Flour, Vegetable Oil, Salt, Maltodextrin, Diced Tomato with Green Chile Peppers Seasoning (Diced Tomatoes, Water, Vegetable Oil, Onion Powder, Salt, Dehydrated Garlic, Sugar, Dehydrated Onion, Dehydrated Green Chile Pepper, Spices, Citric Acid, Garlic Powder, Red Bell Pepper powder, Natural Flavor), Chili Pepper Extractives (Chili Peppers with Starch, Salt), Monosodium Glutamate (MSG), Cilantro.

May Contain: Peanuts, Milk, Egg, Wheat, Sulphites And Mustard.

Takis Nitro Habanero Ingredients:

Corn Flour (Processed With Lime), Vegetable Oil (Palm And/Or Soybean And/Or Canola Oil), Seasoning [Maltodextrin, Salt, Citric Acid, Dextrose, Monosodium Glutamate, Sugar, Onion Powder, Red 40 Lake, Natural And Artificial Flavors, Gum Arabic, Silicon Dioxide, Yellow 6 Lake, Mannitol, Blue 1 Lake, Yellow 5].

Takis Dragon Spicy Sweet Chile Ingredients:

Corn Flour, Vegetable Oil (Canola And Palm), Seasoning [Sugars (Corn Maltodextrin, Sugar, Dextrose), Salt, Potassium Chloride, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Acetic Acid, Citric Acid, Natural Flavour, Autolyzed Yeast Extract, Spices, Allura Red (Colour), Sunset Yellow Fcf (Colour), Paprika Extract, Cayenne Pepper Sauce, Disodium Inosinate, Disodium Guanylate, Silicon Dioxide], Water.

May Contain: Peanuts, Milk, Egg, Wheat, Gluten, Sulphites, Mustard.

Takis Spicy BBQ Outlaw Ingredients:

Corn flour, Vegetable oil (canola, palm, modified palm), Seasoning [natural and artificial flavours (wheat, soy), Sugars (sugar, corn maltodextrin, dextrose), Corn starch, Spices (onion powder, garlic powder, black pepper powder, laurel powder, clove powder, oregano powder), Potassiun chloride, Citric acid, Salt, Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (corn, soy), Guajillo and chipotle chili powder, Allura red (colour), Red chili pepper oleoresin, Yeast extract (soy)], Water.

May contain: Peanuts, Milk, Eggs, other Gluten sources, Sulphites, Mustard.

Takis Nacho Xplosion Ingredients:

Corn flour, Vegetable oil (canola, palm), Seasoning [sugars (corn maltodextrin, sugar), Whey powder (milk), Salt, Onion powder, Monosodium glutamate, Vegetable oil (palm), Garlic powder, Tomato powder, Hydrolyzed corn protein, Citric acid, Natural and artificial flavours, Silicon dioxide, Spices (black pepper), Sunset yellow FCF (colour), Disodium guanylate, Disodium inosinate, Paprika extract, Yeast extract, Tartrazine (colour), Mono and diglycerides, Modified corn starch, Carotene (colour)].

Takis Blue Heat Ingredients:

Corn Flour (Processed With Lime), Vegetable Oil (Palm And/ Or Soybean And/Or Canola Oils), Seasoning [Maltodextrin, Citric Acid, Sugar, Potassium Chloride, Salt, Monosodium Glutamate, Hydrolyzed Soybean Protein, Natural And Artificial Flavors, Hydrolyzed Yeast, Soybean Oil, Onion Powder, Blue 1 Lake, Sodium Bicarbonate, Chili Pepper (Chile), Disodium Inosinate, Disodium Guanylate, Tbhq (Antioxidant)].

Takis Hot Nuts Flare Ingredients:

Peanuts, Modified corn starch, Enriched wheat flour, Vegetable oil (canola, modified plam), Sugars (brown sugar, dextrose, corn maltodextrin), Seasoning [Corn maltodextrin, Salt, Citric acid, Poblano chili pepper, Magnesium carbonate, Modified corn starch, Calcium stearate, Cumin, Corn starch, Spices and herbs (white pepper, bay leaf), Acetic acid, Natural and artificial flavour, Paprika extract, Cochineal (Colour), Tartrazine (colour)], Corn starch, Peanut skin, Water, Sodium bicarbonate, Ammonium bicarbonate, Salt.

May contain : Milk, Soy, Eggs, Barley, Sulphites, Mustard, Sesame.

Takis Hot Nuts Fuego Ingredients:

Peanuts, Modified corn starch, Enriched wheat flour, Vegetable oil (canola, modified palm), Sugars (sugar, dextrose, corn maltodextrin), Seasoning [Sugars (glucose solids, sugar, corn maltodextrin), Citric Acid, Salt, Corn starch, Potassium chloride, Hydrolyzed soy protein, Gum arabic, Hydrolyzed yeast, Natural and artificial flavour, Silicon dioxide, Calcium silicate, Sodium bicarbonate, Paprika extract, Yeast (contains barley), Disodium inosinate and guanylate, Allura red (colour), Cochineal (colour), Tocopherols], Corn starch, Peanut skin, Water, Sodium bicarbonate, Ammonium bicarbonate, Salt.

May contain: Milk, Eggs, Sulphites, Mustard, Sesame.

Takis Waves Fuego Ingredients:

Potato, Vegetable oil (canola, modified palm), Seasoning [Sugars (corn maltodextrin, sugar), Salt, Citric acid, Hydrolyzed corn protein, Monosodium glutamate, Modified corn starch, Acetic acid, Natural flavour, Onion powder, Silicon dioxide, Cochineal (colour), Allura red (colour), Garlic powder, Disodium inosinate and guanylate, Paprika extract, Sunset yellow FCF (colour), Mono and diglycendes, Artificial flavour].

May contain: Peanuts, Milk, Eggs, Soy, Wheat, Barley, Sulphites, Mustard, Sesame.

Takis Waves Dragon Sweet Chili Ingredients:

Potato, Vegetable Oil (Canola, Modified Palm), Seasoning [Sugars (Corn Maltodextrin, Sugar, Dextrose Monohydrate), Salt, Potassium Chloride, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Acetic Acid, Citric Acid, Natural Flavour, Autolyzed Yeast Extract, Spices, Allura Red (Colour), Sunset Yellow Fcf (Colour), Paprika Extract, Cayenne Pepper Sauce, Disodium Inosinate And Guanylate, Silicon Dioxide].

May Contain: Peanuts, Milk, Eggs, Wheat, Barley, Sulphites, Mustard, Sesame.

Now that we have listed the ingredients found in every flavos of Takis, let’s go back to our main question.

Are Takis Dairy-Free?

Based on the ingredients we listed above, some Takis flavors contain dairy ingredients (milk).

The ingredients list for the Fuego flavor, for example, does not contain milk or milk derived product but, they state on their website the note “May Contain”.

The note “May Contain” is actually the answer.

Takis are produced in a facility that also processes dairy products. As a result, there is a chance that the snacks may come into contact with dairy during the manufacturing process.

While the snacks themselves do not contain any dairy ingredients, they may not be suitable for those with severe dairy allergies.

However, Takis Blue Heat, Takis Nacho Xplosion and Takis Nitro Habanero do not contain milk, and therefore they are dairy free.

Conclusion:

Most Takis flavors are not dairy-free. They contain milk products such as cheese powder and whey protein concentrate. Some of the flavors of Takis also contain butter.

Only Takis Blue Heat, Takis Nacho Xplosion and Takis Nitro Habanero are dairy free.

It’s always best to check the ingredients list of the actual product to confirm whether a product contains dairy or not.

Table of Contents