Are PayDays Vegan & Dairy Free?

Payday candy bars are a brand of chocolate-covered peanut and caramel. They were fisrt introduced in 1932 by Frank “Marty” Martoccio. Now they are produced by the Hershey Company and consist of a bar of salted peanuts surrounded by a soft caramel center, all coated in milk chocolate.

Payday Candy Bars are unfortunately not vegan friendly. They contain animal derived product.

In this article, we’ll find out more about what are PayDay bars made of, and why aren’t they vegan friendly and answer some related questions to Payday candy bar. 

Lets’ start with the ingredient list.

Payday Candy Bar Ingredients:

According to the Hershey company, the common ingredients found in Payday candy bars are:

  • Peanuts
  • Sugar
  • Corn Syrup
  • Skim Milk
  • Chocolate
  • Vegetable Oil (Palm Oil, Sunflower Oil)
  • Contains 2% or Less of:
    • Salt
    • Whey
    • Carrageenan
    • Mono and Diglycerides(E471).

As you can see from the ingredient list above, Payday candy bar contains dairy product (Milk) and a questionable ingredient (E471).

The E471 is used as emulsifiers to keep fat and water from separating in the product and it can be sourced from vegetable oils or animal fats such as pork or beef.

These two ingredients makes Payday candy bar not vegan friendly.

Why E471 May Not Be Vegan Friendly?

E471 is a food additive that is used as an emulsifier. It is a mixture of mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids (MDGFAs) and is commonly used in a wide range of food products, including baked goods, margarine, and processed foods. It is often used in conjunction with other emulsifiers such as lecithin to improve the texture and stability of food products.

E471 can be sourced from a variety of animal and plant-based fats and oils, such as soybean oil, palm oil, and beef tallow. It can also be made synthetically using glycerol and fatty acids.

The source of E471 is typically not specified on food labels, but it can be found in the ingredient list. If the product’s company doesn’t clearly state the source of the additive, then it is not vegan fiendly.

That is why E471 may not be vegan.

Do Paydays Have Dairy?

A dairy product is any food product made from milk from any animal in addition to foods and drinks that contain milk, such as cheese, yogurt, cream and butter.

Paydays are not dairy free. They contain skim milk.

Poeple with lactose intolerance (trouble digesting the sugar in milk) or cow’s milk allergy must avoid these candy bars.

Does PayDay Have Eggs?

NO. Payday candy bar does not contain eggs.

You can check the real ingredient list here on Hershey company website.

These’s 2 flavors, Peanut and Caramel and Chocolatey Covered Peanut and Caramel. Both do not contain eggs or egg whites.

Allergens found in this candy bar are: Peanuts, Soy and Milk.

Recent Post:

I am Jennifer, a fervent animal lover, and a dedicated vegan. Am the person behind the I offer insights, advice, and personal stories that have inspired many in their journey towards a plant-based lifestyle. My journey into veganism has also been coupled with a love for writing. I used this passion to share my vegan experiences, to educate others about the benefits of plant-based living, and to advocate for animal rights. Find out more about me on the about page.