Are Peeps Vegan, Halal & Dairy Free?

Peeps are a popular Easter candy known for their marshmallow texture and bright colors, but for individuals who follow a vegan, vegetarian, or halal diet, the question of whether Peeps are compatible with their dietary restrictions is important.

Through careful research and analysis, it can be concluded that Peeps are not vegan, vegetarian, or halal-friendly.

In this post, we will examine the ingredients and production process of Peeps, to determine if they are vegan, vegetarian, or halal.

Let’s start with the ingredients list.

Ingredients of Peeps:

Peeps are typically made from sugar, corn syrup, gelatin, and other ingredients like artificial colors and flavors.

Gelatin is a common ingredient in marshmallow products and is derived from animal sources.

Additionally, some Peeps may contain other non-vegan ingredients, such as confectioner’s glaze, which is derived from insects.

Now, let’s go back to our main question “are Peeps vegan?”.

Are Peeps Vegan?

NO. Peeps are not vegan friendly. They contain animal derived ingredients(gelatin).

Also, according to their website (can be foud here), their marshmallow candies are not vegan because they contain pork-derived gelatin.

Are Peeps Vegetarian?

NO. Peeps are note vegetraian. They typically contain gelatin, which is derived from animal sources and therefore they are not vegetarian-friendly

If you follow a vegetarian diet, then Peeps should be avoided.

However, there’re some brands, that offer vegetarian-friendly marshmallow products that can be consumed in place of traditional Peeps.

Are Peeps Halal Or Haram?

NO. Peeps are not halal as they contain pork-derived gelatin.

According to Islamic dietary laws, the use of pork-derived gelatin is not permissible in halal foods.

Muslims should avoid Peeps candies.

Additionally, it is always a good idea to consult with a qualified religious authority or dietary specialist if you have any questions or concerns about the halal status of any food or beverage product.

Are Peeps Dairy Free?

Yes. Peeps are dairy free, as they do not contain milk or milk derived ingredients.

However, they are produced on the same line as products that contain nonfat dry milk in them. Which makes them at risk for cross contamination with dairy products.


Peeps are not vegan, nor vegetarian or halal.

The use of pork-derived gelatin makes them unsuitable for vegans, vegetarians and Muslims.

You may also like:

I am Jennifer, a fervent animal lover, and a dedicated vegan. Am the person behind the I offer insights, advice, and personal stories that have inspired many in their journey towards a plant-based lifestyle. My journey into veganism has also been coupled with a love for writing. I used this passion to share my vegan experiences, to educate others about the benefits of plant-based living, and to advocate for animal rights. Find out more about me on the about page.