Is Aioli Vegan & Gluten Free? Does Aioli Have Dairy?

Trying to figure out if Aioli is vegan and dairy free can sometimes be confusing.

Aioli is made with simple ingredients and some of them may not be vegan.

To make sure you are only eating vegan food, I’ve looked into the ingredients and production processes of Aioli.

And here’s what I found.

Is Aioli Vegan?

Traditional aioli is not vegan, as it contains egg yolks, which are used to create an emulsion with oil, usually olive oil, to form a creamy and thick consistency. Garlic, lemon juice, and other seasonings are then added for flavor.

However, vegan versions of aioli can certainly be made! These typically use ingredients like soy milk or aquafaba (the liquid from a can of chickpeas) as a base instead of eggs to create an emulsion with oil.

Garlic and other flavorings are then added as usual. These vegan alternatives can mimic the texture and flavor of traditional aioli quite well, offering a plant-based option for those following a vegan diet.

Is Garlic Aioli vegan?

The answer is : it depends. Aioli Garlic can be vegan if it is made without egg yolk. 

In some recipes it contains eggs which makes it unsuitable for both vegans and vegetarians.

But you can make it vegan by eliminating eggs from the recipe and using only garlic and olive oil.

Here’s how to make vegan aioli.

Vegan Aioli Recipe:

Vegan Aioli recipe combines the homemade vegan mayo with the bold taste of fresh garlic by using just 5 ingredients.

  • Olive Oil : Because the base of aioli is traditionally made with olive oil.
  • Unsweetened Soymilk.
  • Lemon juice : Apple cider vinegar or lime juice can also be used.
  • Fresh Garlic Cloves.
  • Salt

Instructions are the same as making mayo.

Does Aioli Have Dairy? Is Aioli Dairy Free?

No, Aioli do not have dairy. Garlic Aioli sauce does not contain milk or milk derived products.

But, the store bought Aioli may contain other ingredients, so as a rule of dumb, always double check the product label before buying.

Is Aioli Gluten Free?

Yes. Aioli is gluten free. It is a mayonnaise based sauce with lemon juice and garlic. It has minimal ingredients and does not contain gluten ingredient.

Which makes it suitable for people on a gluten free diet.

Manufacturers may change the recipe ingredients, so if you want to buy it, always double check the ingredients list.

Recents Articles :

Final thoughts:

Aioli can be vegan friendly if it is made without egg yolk.

I am Jennifer, a fervent animal lover, and a dedicated vegan. Am the person behind the I offer insights, advice, and personal stories that have inspired many in their journey towards a plant-based lifestyle. My journey into veganism has also been coupled with a love for writing. I used this passion to share my vegan experiences, to educate others about the benefits of plant-based living, and to advocate for animal rights. Find out more about me on the about page.