Is Panera’s Broccoli Cheddar Soup Vegetarian?
Have you ever wondered if Panera’s popular broccoli cheddar soup is vegetarian-friendly? Well, let me put your mind at ease. No, Panera’s broccoli cheddar soup is not vegetarian!
Keep reading to find out why Panera Broccoli Cheddar soup is not considered vegetarian.
Let’s start with the ingredients list.
Panera Broccoli Cheddar Soup Ingredients:
According to their website (can be found here), the ingredients of Panera broccoli cheddar soup are as follow:
Milk, Chicken Stock (Chicken Base [Chicken Meat Including Chicken Juices, Salt, Chicken Fat, Yeast Extract, Sugar, Natural Flavor, Potato Flour, Carrot Powder, Turmeric]), Water, Broccoli, Pasteurized Process Cheddar Cheese (Cheddar Cheese [Pasteurized Milk, Cheese Culture, Salt, Enzymes], Whey, Whey Protein Concentrate, Skim Milk, Sodium Citrate, Salt, Milkfat, Lactic Acid, Oleoresin Paprika [For Color], Annatto [For Color]), Heavy Cream, Carrots, Corn Starch, Contains 2% or less of: Onions, Seasoning (Wheat Flour, Salt, Spice), Butter (Cream, Salt), Dijon Mustard (Water, Mustard Seed, Vinegar, Salt, Red Pepper), Nisin Preparation and Hot Pepper Sauce (Distilled Vinegar, Red Pepper, Salt).
What Makes Panera’s Broccoli Cheddar Soup Not Vegetarian?
Panera’s broccoli cheddar soup is made using a combination of fresh broccoli florets, creamy cheddar cheese, Chicken Stock and a flavorful vegetable broth.
This soup contain meat-based broth (Chicken Stock), making it unsuitable for vegetarians and vegans.
If you’re a vegetarian, Panera’s broccoli cheddar soup does not fit into vegetarian diet.
Panera’s broccoli cheddar soup is not vegetarian as it contains animal derived ingredients in the form of chicken stock.
However, they offer a couple of completely vegetarian options, such as Summer Corn Chowder, Black Bean Soup, and Garden Vegetable Soup.