Are Hershey Kisses Vegetarian, Vegan & Dairy Free?

Hershey’s Kisses are a popular brand of bite-sized chocolates that have been enjoyed by many since their introduction in 1907.

The chocolates are known for their unique shape, which resembles a small drop or teardrop, and are often used as a treat or as a decorative element in baking.

However, for those who follow a vegetarian or vegan diet, the question arises: Are Hershey Kisses vegetarian or vegan?

So, in today’s article, we’re going to examine the ingredients in Hershey Kisses chocolates and answer the question of whether or not they are vegetarian, vegan or dairy free.

Let’s start with the ingredient list.

Ingredients in Hershey Kisses Chocolates

The ingredients in Hershey Kisses chocolates vary depending on the flavor (Regular, Dark & Hugs), but the standard milk chocolate Hershey Kisses contain:

Milk Chocolate (Sugar, Milk, Chocolate, Cocoa Butter, Milk Fat, Lecithin, Natural Flavor)

The milk chocolate in Hershey’s Kisses is made with milk, which is an animal-derived ingredient.

Now, let’s answer our main question “are Hershey Kisses vegetarian?”.

Are Hershey’s Kisses Vegetarian

Yes. The standard Hershey's Kisses are suitable for vegetarians, as they only contain milk as animal derived ingredients.

As mentioned in our post about the difference between vegan and vegetarians, vegetarians are vegans that consume milk, egg and dairy products.

So, Hershey’s milk chocolate Kisses are vegetarian.

Are Hershey Kisses Vegan?

No. Hershey Kisses are not vegan friendly, as they contain dairy products.

They contain animal derived ingredients such as milk.

It is the milk in the Hershey’s milk chocolate that makes it not suitable for vegans.

Vegan alternatives to Hershey Kisses Chocolates

For those following a vegan diet, there are many vegan alternatives to Hershey Kisses chocolates.

These brands of vegan chocolates are made without any animal-derived ingredients, such as Enjoy Life Foods Mega Chunks or NATIERRA Organic vegan chocolate ( you can find it here).

Please note that ingredients may change over time, it is important to check the ingredients list on the packaging of each chocolate to ensure that it is suitable for your dietary requirements.

Are Hershey Kisses Dairy Free?

No. Hershey Kisses are not dairy free.

They contain milk and milk derived ingredients.

They are not suitable for people following a dairy or lactose free Diet.


The standard Hershey’s milk chocolate Kisses are not suitable for vegans, however they are vegetarian.

You may also like:

I am Jennifer, a fervent animal lover, and a dedicated vegan. Am the person behind the I offer insights, advice, and personal stories that have inspired many in their journey towards a plant-based lifestyle. My journey into veganism has also been coupled with a love for writing. I used this passion to share my vegan experiences, to educate others about the benefits of plant-based living, and to advocate for animal rights. Find out more about me on the about page.