Is Knorr Aromat Vegan, Vegetarian, Halal & Gluten Free?

Knorr Aromat is a seasoning and flavor enhancer made by Unilever. It is a granulated powder that is used to add flavor to a wide variety of dishes, including soups, stews, gravies, meat, fish, and vegetable dishes.

Knorr Aromat seasoning is not considered vegan, vegetarian or gluten free. However it is considered halal.

In this article, we’re going to examine the ingredients inside Knorr Aromat to see why it is not vegan friendly.

Let’s start with the ingredient list.

What Ingredients Are In Knorr Aromat Seasoning?

According to their website, this popular seasoning is made with these ingredients:

  • Iodised salt.
  • Flavour enhancer (monosodium glutamate).
  • Lactose (MILK), WHEAT starch.
  • Yeast extract, onions (3%), sunflower oil.
  • Palm fat, salt, spices (garlic powder, turmeric, CELERY seeds, cloves).
  • Mushroom powder, bay leaves.

And may contain egg, soy and mustard.

Is Aromat Vegetarian?

Yes, Aromat is considered vegetarian.

Knorr Aromat seasoning contains ingredients like iodised salt, flavor enhancer (monosodium glutamate), lactose (from milk), WHEAT starch, yeast extract, onions, sunflower oil, palm fat, spices (like garlic powder, turmeric, CELERY seeds, cloves), mushroom powder, and bay leaves.

It may also contain egg, soy, and mustard.

Given that it contains lactose (from milk) and may contain egg, Aromat is considered vegetarian.

However, it would not be suitable for vegans because of the presence of these animal-derived ingredients.

Is Knorr Aromat Gluten Free?

Knorr Aromat contains wheat gluten as an ingredient, so it is not gluten-free. 

Which means that is not safe for people with gluten sensitivities or celiac disease to consume.

Please note that we always strive to make sure the information about products is always as accurate as possible. However, because products are regularly changed, the product information, ingredients may occasionally change.

It’s always advisable to check the product packaging for the most current and accurate information regarding gluten content.

Is Knorr Aromat Halal?

Based on the ingredients we listed above, Aromat is considered halal.

However, i couldn’t find any information that would indicate whether or not Knorr Aromat is certified halal.

Also, some Aromat products may contain ingredients that are not halal, such as pork or alcohol.

So it’s important to check the ingredient list and packaging for any information related to halal certification.



Aromat seasoning is not vegan friendly nor vegetarian and gluten free. However it is considered halal.

I am Jennifer, a fervent animal lover, and a dedicated vegan. Am the person behind the I offer insights, advice, and personal stories that have inspired many in their journey towards a plant-based lifestyle. My journey into veganism has also been coupled with a love for writing. I used this passion to share my vegan experiences, to educate others about the benefits of plant-based living, and to advocate for animal rights. Find out more about me on the about page.