Is Boo Berry Vegan & Gluten Free? General Mills Cereal Marshmallows!

Are you wondering if Boo Berry Cereal is vegan or not? If yes, then, you’re in the right place. Today, we’re going to review the Boo Berry cereal including the cereal’s ingredients, nutrition information and see if it is vegan friendly.

What Is Boo Berry Cereal?

Boo Berry cereal is a popular breakfast cereal produced by General Mills. It’s known for its distinctive blue color and berry flavor.

Boo Berry cereal was introduced by General Mills in 1973 as part of their line of monster-themed cereals, which also includes Count Chocula and Franken Berry.

These cereals are usually released seasonally, particularly around Halloween, and are known for their playful packaging featuring cartoon depictions of classic monsters.

Boo Berry cereal is enjoyed by many for its nostalgic appeal and sweet, fruity flavor. It’s often served with milk for breakfast or enjoyed as a snack straight from the box.

Keep in mind that due to its limited availability, it may not be found on store shelves year-round.

Boo Berry Ingredients:

What is Boo Berry made of? The Boo Berry Cereal ingredients are:

  • Whole Grain CornCorn Meal.
  • Sugar.
  • Marshmallows (sugar, dextrose, modified corn starch, corn syrup, gelatin, malic acid, natural & artificial flavor, citric acid, red 40, blue 1 & 2).
  • Corn SyrupCanola Oil.
  • SaltTrisodium Phosphate.
  • Red 40Natural and Artificial Flavor.
  • Blue 1.

Other ingredients in the form of Vitamins and Minerals can be added:

  • Calcium Carbonate.
  • Tricalcium Phosphate.
  • Zinc and Iron (mineral nutrients).
  • Vitamin C (sodium ascorbate).
  • A B Vitamin (niacinamide).
  • Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride).
  • Vitamin B2 (riboflavin).
  • Vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate).
  • Vitamin A (palmitate).
  • A B Vitamin (folic acid).
  • Vitamin B12.
  • Vitamin D3

Is Boo Berry Cereal Vegan?

No. Boo Berry is not vegan, as it contains animal by-product in the form of gelatin and vitamin D3.

Boo Berry cereal is not vegan friendly because of gelatin and Vitamin D3, both are derived from animal source.

Is Boo Berry Cereal Vegetarian?

Boo Berry Cereal is not animal free, one of its ingredients is gelatin( animal by product), which makes it unsuitable for vegetarians.

Related Posts:

Is Boo Berry Gluten Free?

No, Boo Berry cereal is not gluten free. Although Boo Berry cereal doesn’t explicitly contain any wheat ingredients, gluten may still exist in the cereal from other ingredients. 

The facility also produces gluten-containing products, trace amounts of gluten may be present in the cereal.

Also, General Mills (the company) doesn’t market it as gluten free, which means Boo Berry Cereal is not gluten free.


Boo Berry cereal is not vegan friendly, as it contains animal derived ingredients.


Please note that we always strive to make sure the information about the products is always as accurate as possible. However, because products are regularly improved, the product information, ingredients, nutritional guides and dietary or allergy advice may occasionally change.

As a result, we recommend that you always read the label carefully before using or consuming any products.

I am Jennifer, a fervent animal lover, and a dedicated vegan. Am the person behind the I offer insights, advice, and personal stories that have inspired many in their journey towards a plant-based lifestyle. My journey into veganism has also been coupled with a love for writing. I used this passion to share my vegan experiences, to educate others about the benefits of plant-based living, and to advocate for animal rights. Find out more about me on the about page.