Is Mom’s Best Cereal Vegan? Not All Of Them

Is Mom’s Best Cereal vegan? Are you, too, wondering if it is vegan friendly. Well, today, we are going to dig into the Mom’s Best Cereal ingredients and get you the answers you need to determine if this cereal is suitable for vegans.

Without further ado, here’s the answer:

Only Jungle Berry Crunch Cereal, Safari Cocoa Crunch Cereal and Toasted Wheatfuls Cereal are vegan friendly. The rest of Mom’s Best brand’s Cereals are not vegan as they contain animal derived products.

Keep reading to discover why only these 3 cereals are vegan.

Mom’s Best brand is owned by Malt-O-Meal( founded by John S. Campbell in 1919 in Owatonna, Minnesota).

Today, the company owns nearly a dozen brands, none of them organic. One of the brands is Three Sisters, a non-organic “natural” cereal brand, which recently became available exclusively in Whole Foods Stores and the “Mom” is the acronym for “Malt-O-Meal.”

The questionable ingredients that makes most of Mom’s Best Cereals not vegan friendly are :

  • MARSHMALLOWS (marshmallows are usually made up of sugar, water, air, and gelatin.). This ingredient is found in Mom’s Best Mallow Oats Cereal.
  • HONEY: Found in Mom’s Best Oats and Honey Blend Cereal.
  • GELATIN: Found in Mom’s Best Mallow Oats Cereal & Blueberry Wheatfuls Cereal.

Here’s the ingredients list of the 3 vegan Mom’s Best Cereals:

Is Mom’s Best Jungle Berry Crunch Vegan?

Jungle Berry Crunch

Jungle Berry Crunch Cereal is made with :

  • DEGERMED CORN MEAL.
  • CANE SUGAR.
  • WHOLE GRAIN OAT FLOUR.
  • SALT.
  • VEGETABLE JUICE (COLOR).
  • NATURAL FLAVOR.
  • TURMERIC OLEORESIN (COLOR).
  • ANNATTO EXTRACT (COLOR).

All these ingredients are plant based, which makes Jungle Berry Crunch Cereal Vegan freindly.

Is Mom’s Best Cereals Safari Cocoa Crunch Vegan?

Safari Cocoa Crunch Cereal

Mom’s Best Cereals Safari Cocoa Crunch is made with :

  • CORN FLOUR.
  • SUGAR
  • COCOA PROCESSED WITH ALKALI
  • SALT
  • CALCIUM CARBONATE
  • CARAMEL COLOR
  • NATURAL FLAVOR.

There’s one controversial ingredient, which is sugar, that may not be vegan, but Mom’s Best states in their website that they use sugar as a sweetener, that is often derived from sugar beets and sugar cane.

So, Mom’s Best Cereals Safari Cocoa Crunch is vegan friendly.

Jus to mention that this cereal is gluten free and can be consumed by those diagnosed with celiac disease or other medical conditions associated with gluten like.


Related Posts:


Is Mom’s Best Cereals Toasted Wheatfuls Vegan?

Toasted Wheatfuls

The ingredients list of Mom’s best Cereals Toasted Wheatfuls is :

  • WHOLE GRAIN WHEAT.
  • FRESHNESS PRESERVED WITH VITAMIN E (MIXED TOCOPHEROLS).
  • WHEAT

This Cereal does not contain any trace of animal derived products, which makes it vegan approved.

But, it contains wheat and therefore Mom’s Best Cereals Toasted Wheatfuls is not gluten free.

Is Mom’s Best Cereal Organic?

Mom’s Best uses high-quality ingredients and never synthetic colors, artificial flavors, artificial preservatives or high-fructose corn syrup.

But, it is not organic. Their products are not certified organic.

Summary:

Not all Mom’s best cereals are vegan friendly. Only 3 of them are vegan approved:

  • Jungle Berry Crunch Cereal.
  • Safari Cocoa Crunch Cereal.
  • Toasted Wheatfuls Cereal.

Disclaimer:

we always strive to make sure the information about the products is always as accurate as possible. However, because products are regularly improved, the product information, ingredients, nutritional guides and dietary or allergy advice may occasionally change.

As a result, we recommend that you always read the label carefully before using or consuming any products. 

Table of Contents