Is Toblerone Vegan, Vegetarian & Halal? [2023 Updated]

Toblerone is a brand of Swiss chocolate bar that is known for its distinctive triangular shape. It was created in 1908 by Theodor Tobler and is now produced by Mondelez International.

Toblerone chocolate bars are available in various sizes and flavors, including milk chocolate, dark chocolate, and white chocolate. But is it vegan friendly? Let’s find out.

In this post we’re going to examine the ingredients inside Toblerone to determine if it is suitable for vegans.

But if you’re in a rush, here’s a short answer:

Toblerone is not vegan friendly. In fact all Flavors of Toblerone are not vegan.

Keep reading to find out why Tolebrone is not vegan friendly. Let’s start with the ingredient list.

Toblerone Chocolate Ingredients:

Toblerone Chocolate are made with these ingredients :

  • Milk Chocolate (Sugar, Milk Ingredients, Cocoa Butter, Unsweetened Chocolate, Soy Lecithin, Artificial Flavour).
  • Nougat (Sugar, Honey, Almonds, Dried Egg-White).


The ingredient list contains animal byproducts such as milk, egg and honey. And therefore, Toblerone is not vegan friendly.

Questionable Ingredients(potentially not vegan):

There are a number of questionable ingredients such as sugar, almonds and vanillin flavouring, which could potentially be not vegan.


Some sugar like white sugar gets its color from a refining process that often involves the use of bone char, meaning even though it’s not directly an animal product, it’s not vegan.


While many fruits and vegetables can be pollinated without bees, almonds require honey bees for pollination. If there are no honey bees, there are no almonds.

Which means almonds are not technically vegan.

Related Posts:

Is Toblerone Vegetarian?

As per the definition of vegetarian diet, vegetarian can consume dairy products and eggs.

Toblerone contains honey and therefore it is not suitable for vegetarians.

Are Toblerone Dark Vegan?

Toblerone Dark is not vegan.

It contains animal derived products ( milk, egg and honey), it also contains some questionable ingredients that may not be vegan friendly.

But, the good news is that it is suitable for vegetarians.

Is Toblerone Halal?

Toblerone do not contain any trace of ingredients forbidden by the Islamic Religion.

Which means that Toblerone Chocolate meets the rules for dietary guidelines for Muslims.

Therefore, Toblerone is Halal.[2]

Is Toblerone Gluten Free?

Toblerone candy bars are considered to be glutenfree.

Toblerone states on their website that their products are glutenfree.

Final Thoughts:

Toblerone Chocolate is made with ingredients that are not suitable for vegans such as sugar, whole milk powder, egg white and honey.

So, Toblerone is not vegan.


Please note that while we take care to make sure the product information displayed on our website is correct, product recipes are regularly changed.

This may affect nutrition and allergen information therefore you should always check product labels and not rely solely on the information presented here.

I am Jennifer, a fervent animal lover, and a dedicated vegan. Am the person behind the I offer insights, advice, and personal stories that have inspired many in their journey towards a plant-based lifestyle. My journey into veganism has also been coupled with a love for writing. I used this passion to share my vegan experiences, to educate others about the benefits of plant-based living, and to advocate for animal rights. Find out more about me on the about page.