Is White Claw Hard Seltzer Vegan & Gluten Free?

Nowaday, it’s not easy to find vegan alcohol, you have to do some research since beer  and wine can be processed using animal products such as isinglass, egg whites, or gelatin

So, today we’re going to review the White Claw Hard Seltzer to determine if it is vegan and gluten free.

What is White Claw Hard seltzer?

White Claw is a brand of hard seltzer that was first introduced in the United States in 2016. Hard seltzer is a type of alcoholic beverage that is made by mixing sparkling water with alcohol and flavorings.

The White Claw Hard seltzer, also known as spiked seltzer and alcoholic seltzer, has gained popularity in recent years, especially among younger adults, and is available in a variety of flavors.

It is sold in cans and is marketed as a low-calorie and low-carbohydrate alternative to beer and other alcoholic beverages.

So, in order to determine if White Claw is vegan, let’s first check the flavors.

What are the flavors of White Claw?

White Claw offers a variety of flavors. Here are some of the most popular flavors:

  • Citrus Yuzu Smash
  • Blood Orange
  • Black Cherry
  • Ruby Grapefruit
  • Cranberry
  • Watermelon
  • Tangerine
  • Strawberry
  • Iced Tea
  • Hibiscus
  • Kiwi
  • Pineapple
  • Lemon Lime
  • Mango
  • Passion Fruit
  • Peach
  • Raspberry

Now, let’s check the ingredients to see if there’s any animal derived product.

White Claw ingredients:

The ingredients in White Claw hard seltzers vary slightly depending on the flavor, but generally include the following:

  • Purified carbonated water
  • Alcohol derived from a blend of fermented sugars
  • Natural fruit flavorings, which can vary depending on the flavor of the White Claw
  • Citric acid, which is used to adjust the pH of the product
  • Cane sugar, which is used as a sweetener in some flavors (not all flavors contain added sugar)
  • Sodium citrate, which is a natural preservative and flavor enhancer
  • Natural juice concentrate, which is used as a colorant in some flavors (not all flavors contain added coloring)

Now, that we know the main ingredients inside White Claw, here’s the answer to our main question.

Is White Claw Hard Seltzer Vegan?

Yes. White Claw hard seltzer is generally considered to be vegan.

The company does not use any animal-derived ingredients in its products, and the alcohol used to make the hard seltzers is typically derived from fermented sugars that are not sourced from animals.

However, White Claw Hard Seltzer contains cane sugar, a questionable ingredient within the vegan community and it is also lightly pasteurized.

The best way to make sure that a drink is 100% vegan is to ask the manufacturer and this is the answer received by Barnivore on Jully 2018:

“To answer your question we can claim White Claw as Vegan. However, we cannot claim ‘Raw Vegan’ as it is lightly pasteurized.”

Thanks to Barnivore, you can easily discover the vegan status of any popular brand of wine or beer.

Related Posts:

Is White Claw Hard Seltzer gluten free?

YES. White Claw Hard Seltzer is Gluten Free.

A gluten-free diet is a diet that excludes the protein gluten, which is a protein found in grains such as wheat, barley, and rye.

White Claw is marketed as gluten-free, it is made from a blend of seltzer water, gluten free alcohol base, and a hint of fruit flavor.

Also, the White Claw company stated on their official website that Hard Seltzer is free from gluten ingredients.

White Claw is safe for people with celiac disease.

Key Takeaways:

White Claw is vegan friendly and gluten free.


Please note that changes to product recipes can occur from time to time. You should not rely solely on the information presented here. Always read labels, warnings and directions before using or consuming a product.

I am Jennifer, a fervent animal lover, and a dedicated vegan. Am the person behind the I offer insights, advice, and personal stories that have inspired many in their journey towards a plant-based lifestyle. My journey into veganism has also been coupled with a love for writing. I used this passion to share my vegan experiences, to educate others about the benefits of plant-based living, and to advocate for animal rights. Find out more about me on the about page.