Are Frosted Flakes Dairy Free Or Vegan?

Before we answer the question “are frosted flakes dairy free?”, let’s first take a look at what is a Milk Allergy (Dairy Allergy).

Milk allergies are the most common food allergy in infants and young children. You might be surprised to learn that between 2% and 3% of children younger than 3 years old are allergic to milk.[1]

It is an atypical immune system response to milk and products containing milk. A person with a milk allergy is often allergic to one of two protein components of milk: ​casein and whey.

Cow’s milk is the usual cause of milk allergy, but milk from sheep, goats, buffalo and other mammals also can cause a reaction.

In order to answer the main question, let’s check the Frosted Flakes Cereal ingredient list.

Frosted Flakes Ingredients:

KELLOGG’S Frosted Flakes Cereals are made with these ingredients:

  • Milled corn.
  • sugar.
  • malt flavor.
  • contains 2% or less of salt.
  • Vitamins and Minerals:
    • Iron (ferric phosphate).
    • niacinamide.
    • vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride).
    • vitamin B2 (riboflavin).
    • vitamin B1 (thiamin hydrochloride).
    • folic acid.
    • vitamin D3.
    • vitamin B12.

Now that you know what ingredients are in Frosted Flakes, let’s go back to our main question.

Are Frosted Flakes Dairy Free?

Yes. Frosted Flakes are dairy free.

KELLOGG’S Frosted Flakes do not contain milk or products containing milk.

Please note that product information, allergens and ingredients may change, so always double check full nutrition information on the package.


Are Frosted Flakes Vegan?

No. Kellogg’s Frosted Flakes are not vegan friendly.

The ingredients list of Frosted Flakes cereal does not contain any animal-derived products in its ingredients, such as meat, dairy, or eggs.

However, the presence of vitamin D3 in the cereal may raise concerns for some vegans.

Vitamin D3 is an essential nutrient that is often derived from lanolin, which is a substance found in sheep’s wool.

According to Kellogg’s, the company that produces Frosted Flakes, the vitamin D3 used in Frosted Flakes is derived from lanolin.

Therefore, some vegans may choose to avoid Frosted Flakes cereal due to the presence of vitamin D3, while others may be comfortable consuming it, as it is not directly derived from an animal source.


KELLOGG’S Frosted Flakes Cereals do not contain milk or ingredients that are part of milk, which makes them dairy free.

I am Jennifer, a fervent animal lover, and a dedicated vegan. Am the person behind the I offer insights, advice, and personal stories that have inspired many in their journey towards a plant-based lifestyle. My journey into veganism has also been coupled with a love for writing. I used this passion to share my vegan experiences, to educate others about the benefits of plant-based living, and to advocate for animal rights. Find out more about me on the about page.