Are York Peppermint Patties Vegan?

Are York Peppermint Patties vegan? I’ve been asked a few times by now whether vegans can eat York Peppermint Patty, usually asked by people who are new to the concept of vegan diet.

Today we are going to uncover York Peppermint Patty ingredients to determine whether it’s vegan or not.

York Peppermint Pattie is an American dark chocolate enrobed peppermint confection introduced in 1940 and currently produced by the Hershey Company.*

York Peppermint Pattie has a strong dark chocolate flavor combined with a powerful flavor of peppermint. It is circular shaped, somewhat thin, and black/brown in color.

York Peppermint Patties Ingredients:

York Peppermint Patties ingredients are as follow:

  • Sugar
  • Corn Syrup
  • Chocolate
  • Cocoa
  • Invert Sugar
  • Milk Fat
  • Egg Whites
  • Lecithin (Soy)
  • Cocoa Butter
  • Oil Of Peppermint
  • PGPR
  • Natural Flavor
  • Milk

Are York Peppermint Patties Vegan?

Are they vegan? Are York Peppermint Patties vegan? Unfortunately, NO. York Peppermint patties are not vegan. These American candies contain animal-derived ingredients (milk, milk fat and eggs whites).

Which make York Peppermint Patties from Hershey not a good choice for those living a vegan lifestyle.

But don’t worry, there are other brands that sell vegan peppermint patties.

Vegan Peppermint Patties Brands:

Here are some vegan peppermint patties Brands:

Nib Mor: Vegan Dark Chocolate Peppermint Pieces.(check availability here)

Lake Champlain Chocolates: Dark Chocolate Peppermint Coins Gift Bag.(check availability here)

No Whey Foods – Peppermint No No’s.(check availability here)

Taza Chocolate Organic Amaze Bar 60% Stone Ground, Peppermint Stick.(check availability here)

Elements Truffles Peppermint Bar.(check availability here).

Theo Chocolate Holiday Peppermint Crunch Organic Dark Chocolate Bar.(check availability here).

Lenny & Larry’s The Complete Cookie, Peppermint Chocolate.(check availability here).

York Peppermint Patties Nutrition:

Nutrition facts for : 1.4 OZ package

% DV = Percent Daily Value. Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.

York Peppermint Patties Nutrition

Related Posts:

Are York Peppermint Patties Gluten-Free?

According to their website, the Hershey company states that York Peppermint Patties and YORK Sugar Free are gluten-free.

However, other YORK products such as YORK Minis and YORK Shapes are not gluten-free.

For an accurate and current listing of the ingredients list, please read the product label, because, on occasion, the list of ingredients can change, we strongly encourage you to check the ingredient label on the package each time before you make a purchase.

Are York Peppermint Patties Dairy Free?

No, York Peppermint patties are not dairy free as they contain milk.

For a food product to be dairy free, it must not contain any milk products, including milk from any animal, as well as cheese, yogurt, butter and creams.

York Peppermint Patties contain milk, which means that they are not dairy free.

Are York Peppermint Patties Kosher?

According to their website, the product York Peppermint Patties is approved as Kosher.

Please, double check the product label before buying as recipes and ingredients may change any time.

Key Takeaways:

York Peppermint Patties, known worldwide for its cool, refreshing chocolate and mint combination, are not a vegan friendly treat.

References :

Wikipedia: [1]

I am Jennifer, a fervent animal lover, and a dedicated vegan. Am the person behind the I offer insights, advice, and personal stories that have inspired many in their journey towards a plant-based lifestyle. My journey into veganism has also been coupled with a love for writing. I used this passion to share my vegan experiences, to educate others about the benefits of plant-based living, and to advocate for animal rights. Find out more about me on the about page.