Are Premium Saltine Crackers Gluten Free & Vegan?

Are you one of those who enjoy Saltine snack crackers dipped or crumbled into stews, soups or chili. Are you diagnosed with celiac disease and wondering if Premium Saltine Crackers are gluten free.

If so, you’re in the right place. Today we’re going to check the Premium Saltine Crackers ingredients and see if they are gluten free and also if it is suitable for vegans.

Are you new here? I also have the following posts to help you live gluten-free without the stress!

A saltine or soda cracker is a thin, usually square cracker made from white flour, sometimes yeast, and baking soda, with most varieties lightly sprinkled with coarse salt.

To answer our main question, let’s check the ingredients.

Premium Saltine Crackers Ingredients:

Premium Saltine Crackers are made with these ingredients:


In a general way, Gluten is the name given to the proteins found in wheat (ALL wheat products) and ,but not as concentrated, in rye and barley. Gluten acts like a glue that holds food together.

Which leads us to our question ” are Premium Saltine Crackers gluten free?”.

Are Premium Saltine Crackers Gluten Free?

NO. Premium Saltine Crackers are not gluten free. They contain wheat and gluten is found in all wheat products.

In fact, things that are typically made with wheat are not gluten free unless someone has specifically made a version that says ‘gluten-free’ on the box.

Are Saltine Crackers Gluten Free?

The main ingredients found in traditional saltine crackers include:

  • Enriched flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid)
  • Salt
  • Canola oil or vegetable oil
  • Yeast
  • Baking soda

Some brands may also include additional ingredients such as sugar, malted barley flour, or wheat gluten.

So, are Saltine Crackers gluten free? NO. Saltine Crackers are not gluten free.

It’s always a good idea to check the labels and ingredient list if you have any allergies or dietary restrictions.

And if you are looking for a gluten-free saltine crackers, check this one here, made with corn starch.(click here to check the availability).

How Much Gluten In Saltine Crackers?

The amount of gluten in saltine crackers can vary depending on the brand and the specific recipe used.

Traditional saltine crackers are made with wheat flour, which contains gluten. Wheat flours sold in most of the U.S. average 11 to 12 percent gluten.

Some flour contains even more gluten than bread flour does, with 13 percent to 14.5 percent gluten per serving.

According to the FDA, products that contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten can be labeled as gluten-free.(source)

However, there are gluten-free saltines crackers made with gluten-free flours such as rice flour, corn flour, or tapioca flour, which contain less than 20 ppm of gluten.

Here’s a list of the best gluten-free saltine crackers.

Best Gluten Free Saltine Crackers:

Some popular brands of gluten-free saltine crackers include:


Glutino gluten-free crackers are free from gluten, wheat, and casein, making them the perfect snack. They are made with corn starch and rice flour and are available in original and multi-seed varieties.

You can test them here.


Schär gluten-free crackers are made with a combination of rice flour, corn flour, and potato starch.

They are a light and crispy texture and are available in original and table cracker varieties.


Sesmark crackers are thin and crunchy with enough salt to fill your salty snack cravings, but simple enough to let the bold flavors of nature’s original grains come through

They are made with rice flour and are available in original, sesame seed, and whole grain varieties.

You can find them here.

Simple Mills:

Simple Mills gluten free crackers are made with nut and seed flour blend (Almonds, Sunflower Seeds, Flax Seeds).

These crackers are made with simple ingredients, certified Gluten free, Non-GMO, grain Free, corn Free, paleo friendly and plant based.

Absolutely Gluten Free:

Absolutely Gluten Free crackers are made these simple ingredients:

  • Tapioca Starch.
  • Water.
  • Potato Starch.
  • Potato Flour.
  • Expeller Pressed Palm Oil.
  • Natural Vinegar, Hone.

These crackers are light, easy to digest, and tasty.

You can check them here.

Please note that these are just a few examples of gluten-free crackers that are available.

There may be other brands and varieties available in your local grocery store or online.

As a rule of dumb, always check the labels and ingredient list before purchasing to make sure that the product is gluten-free and suitable for your dietary needs.


Are Premium Saltine Crackers Vegan?

Based on the ingredients we listed above, Nabisco Premium Saltine Crackers are considered vegan as they do not contain any animal-derived ingredients.

Please note that many brands may change the product ingredients, so, it is always a good idea to check the ingredients on the actual product before consuming.

Final Thoughts:

Premium Saltine Crackers are not gluten free because of wheat.

I am Jennifer, a fervent animal lover, and a dedicated vegan. Am the person behind the I offer insights, advice, and personal stories that have inspired many in their journey towards a plant-based lifestyle. My journey into veganism has also been coupled with a love for writing. I used this passion to share my vegan experiences, to educate others about the benefits of plant-based living, and to advocate for animal rights. Find out more about me on the about page.